Teach the Brain Forums

Full Version: dyscalculia
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hi
I am looking forward to know more about the dyscalculia from the perpective of classroom teacher. like how these children behave , what other kind of problems if any these children have? what do other children and they think of themselves......peer interaction. What is the reaction of teachers not trained well to teach and take care of the needs of these children........

thanks
love
bharti
I am working as a school-psychologist in Sweden, so your question is not answered. But I am involved in investigations of dyslexia.
bharti,
I'm a third grade teacher from midwest, U.S. I've also worked specifically with kids with learning disablities for many years. From what we know so far, dyscalcula takes many forms and is a result of a variety of processing factors. It is difficult to respond to many of your interesting questions without understanding more. Is this a specific child you are concerned about? Are these questions for another purpose? If we know more about your purpose it will help narrow the response. There are many excellent resources!
curiousgeorge
Hi Bharti,
I actually run a Dyscalculia Forum, where the questions that you have raised are discussed.
The first problem is that Dyscalculia is not widely known about so far, which creates a problem for students, teachers and parents.
A major complication, is that Dyscalculics are typically exceptional Verbal Thinkers/ Learners.
So the common response to their maths difficulties, is that they are either Lazy and Not Trying Hard Enough, or else they must be Stupid.

When a 10 year old child is accused of this, when they give the wrong answer to the question what is; 9+5=
How can a child respond?
They have no explanation, as they 'tried' to calculate the answer, but just couldn't do it? So it's not because I'm lazy or not trying hard enough?